June 23, 2019 - "A BRIEF MADNESS: New Identity" by Hal Crook is now available on Amazon.

June 5, 2018 - The entire second set of the amazing Set Me Free concert with the pop band Behind These Eyes is now available.

May 28, 2018 - Listen to the entire first set of SET ME FREE featuring Esperanza Spalding (vocals, bass), Antonio Sanchez (drums), Lionel Loueke (guitar), Chris Cheek (sax), Leo Genovese (piano) and Hal (trom-o-tizer).

Follow me on Facebook!

See the Hal Crook Set Me Free concert video.

More Online

Instagram -- Facebook -- YouTube --

Hal Crook with Simon Rentner on WBGO Jazz 88.3


Behind These Eyes

Band: Behind These Eyes
Producer/Musical Director: Hal Crook


Words, Music and Musical Arrangement by Hal Crook © 2013


When I look out there from behind these eyes

It comes as no big surprise

That we are connected by the power of

Transcendental love

In some wild disguise

All of us humans have to realize

That life is the greatest prize

And whether we’re here or there we’re all the same

Nothing but a name

Separates our lives

Time to stop feeling like we’re paralyzed

Stop dwelling on crazy lies
And look in our hearts for some humility

Let it set us free

So the world survives

[Band Shout Chorus]

When I look out there from behind these eyes
We seem to be hypnotized

Asleep to the underlying fact of life

There’s no black or white

Nothing lives or dies

Any old path we choose will take us there

‘Cause there is the same as here

The past and the future don’t exist somehow

‘Cause it’s always now

There’s no time, no “where”

Hard to know whether we should laugh or cry

Our minds are so mesmerized

The deeper we go the less there is to know

Till without ourselves

We find paradise



Website Design by Jason Camelio: